If you are in immediate danger, please call Triple Zero (000)

Local Communities

More than 100 Local Government Areas (LGAs) were impacted by the 2019-20 bushfire season, resulting in devastating loss of life and property, as well as the destruction of environments and native wildfire across the nation.

Click on each state/territory below to see their list of affected LGAs.

Map of Australia


Local profiles

The National Bushfire Recovery Agency has compiled key information on each bushfire impacted Local Government Area. Each profile includes general data, as well as information on bushfire impact, relief and recovery support, and maps. They have been grouped together by state/territory:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria

Local support

Delivering relief and recovery assistance to local communities has been a priority of all levels of government.

Responding to natural disasters is primarily the responsibility of State and Territory Governments. However in recognition of the significant cost of the 2019-20 bushfire crisis, the Australian Government committed to cost-share relief and recovery efforts with State and Territory Governments under the Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA).

Through the DRFA, the Australian Government provides financial assistance directly to the states to administer to local communities.

There are four categories of assistance under the DRFA. Information on each category is available for download on the Disaster Assist website.

In addition to this, the Australian Government is working closely with local governments affected by the bushfires to speed-up recovery and help drive critical community support. To date, $62 million in Commonwealth funding has been provided directly to impacted local governments through the Local Government Areas Grants Program.

 Further details on relief and recovery support provided to impacted communities is outlined on our Funding page.

Date Town State/Territory LGA Representative
9 Jan 2020 Wingello NSW Coordinator
13 Jan 2020 Wilberforce, Bilpin, Bell, Blackheath, Katoomba NSW Coordinator
13 Jan 2020 Gosper Mountain NSW Coordinator
16 Jan 2020 East Gippsland, Sale, Bairnsdale, Lakes Entrance VIC Coordinator
17 Jan 2020 Moruya. Malua Bay, Bateman's Bay NSW Coordinator
23 Jan 2020 Yeppoon QLD Coordinator
31 Jan 2020 Bega Shire, Eden NSW Deputy Coordinator
31 Jan 2020 Wangaratta VIC Deputy Coordinator
31 Jan 2020 Pambula, Bega and Eden NSW Deputy Coordinator
31 Jan 2020 Bushfire Recovery Victoria, Wangaratta VIC Coordinator
6 Feb 2020 Adelaide Hills SA Coordinator
7 Feb 2020 Kangaroo Island SA Coordinator
8 Feb 2020 Bells Line of Road, Blue Mountains NSW Coordinator
13 Feb 2020 Wyndham, Kiah NSW Coordinator
14 Feb 2020 Lake Conjola NSW Coordinator
15 Feb 2020 Mogo NSW Deputy Coordinator
20 Feb 2020 Batlow NSW Coordinator
20 Feb 2020 Tumbarumba NSW Coordinator
21 Feb 2020 Launceston TAS Deputy Coordinator
28 Feb 2020 Scenic Rim QLD Deputy Coordinator
5 Mar 2020 Rappville NSW Coordinator
6 Mar 2020 Torrington NSW Coordinator
11 Mar 2020 Merimbula NSW Coordinator
13 Mar 2020 Ovens VIC Deputy Coordinator
13 Mar 2020 Wodonga VIC Deputy Coordinator
16 Mar 2020 Cobargo, Tathra, Bemboka, Merimbula NSW Coordinator
16 Mar 2020 Mallacoota VIC Coordinator
18 Mar 2020 Grafton NSW Deputy Coordinator
27 Mar 2020 Lithgow (V) NSW Coordinator
31 Mar 2020 Kangaroo Island (V) SA Deputy Coordinator
8 Apr 2020 Binna Burra (V) QLD Coordinator
15 Apr 2020 to 16 Apr 2020 Indi Electorate - Shire of Towong, Alpine Shire Wangaratta, Indigo, Mansfield, Wodonga, Benalla (V) VIC Coordinator
16 Apr 2020 East Gippsland (V) VIC Deputy Coordinator
21 Apr 2020 Eurobodalla Shire (V) NSW Coordinator
21 Apr 2020 Glen Innes (V) NSW Deputy Coordinator
30 Apr 2020 Hawkesbury (V) NSW Deputy Coordinator
7 May 2020 Cudlee Creek (V) SA Deputy Coordinator
7 May 2020 SE QLD – Wright Electorate - Lockyer Valley Regional Council, Scenic Rim Regional Council (V) QLD Coordinator
12 May 2020 Bega / Cobargo (V) NSW Deputy Coordinator
14 May 2020 Port Macquarie (V) NSW Coordinator
14 May 2020 Port Macquarie (V) NSW Deputy Coordinator
20 May 2020 Kempsey (V) NSW Coordinator
20 May 2020 Nambucca (V) NSW Coordinator